Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Lifestyle > The Motoring Zone
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

The Motoring Zone Just bought a car? Need advice on a car? Want to chat about cars generally? Here is the place to do it.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-04-2012, 06:21 PM   #11
Paintmaster1982
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
Paintmaster1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brigg, North Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,201
Thanks: 194
Thanked 282 Times in 231 Posts
it could be the crank possition sensor. If they have replaced the clutch n the gear box has been removed i dear say something might have become unplugged or a lose connection has occured.

Look around the gear box for any sensors etc make sure they are all plugged in.

Also as said in prev post get it plugged into a diagnostic machine, sure its the cost of 1 hrs labour but if it finds the problem and can get your mpg back up n running then its money well spent.

Last edited by Paintmaster1982; 23-04-2012 at 06:25 PM.
Paintmaster1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2012, 06:39 PM   #12
Johnboy82
Washmitt Meister
 
Johnboy82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Salsburgh
Posts: 264
Thanks: 19
Thanked 42 Times in 34 Posts
Cheers guys. Will get it up on the ramp and have a look again.
Johnboy82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2012, 09:20 PM   #13
tones61
Orbital Oracle
 
tones61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: mot'ing in plymouth
Posts: 704
Thanks: 134
Thanked 219 Times in 188 Posts
prob a maf sensor being a fiat,ps,it wont show up as a fault code on eobd/scanner,
tones61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2012, 09:40 PM   #14
mr v6
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,057
Thanks: 36
Thanked 114 Times in 101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnboy82 View Post
I take my foot off the gas then back on and it kicks in again.
Possible broken tracks in the throttle position sensor (TPS) issue? Nothing to lose on a diag machine. You could spend more in replacing parts just trying to guess the fault than the cost of a diag which could well pin point it.

Get yourself a cheapo ELM327 cable or ELM327 bluetooth adapter & Torque app for Android.
mr v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:33 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors