Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > General Off Topic > Off Topic Chat
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-01-2014, 11:46 PM   #1
ahaydock
Retired Mod
 
ahaydock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DW Dorset Office
Posts: 23,360
Thanks: 1,831
Thanked 2,802 Times in 2,414 Posts
Garage
Wiring a Dimmer Switch Help

Hi Guys,

Basically I have a single light switch that has two brown wires going into L1 and L2. There is also a Blue wire terminated into a choc-block but not connected. There is no Ground.

How should I wire this up please to my new chrome Dimmer?

I am thinking Blue wire into L1 of the new Dimmer, the Brown wire from L2 of the old switch into L2 of the new, and then the other Brown wire (was in L1) into the wavey line thing (guess this is the potentiometer for the dimmer)? I think the Ground is made through the screws going into the back plate.

Any tips appreciated
ahaydock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2014, 11:55 PM   #2
SKY
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
SKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Democratic People's Republic Of South East Essex
Posts: 1,121
Thanks: 490
Thanked 545 Times in 376 Posts
I'm a sparks

Leave the blue in the choc bloc and just connect 1 brown to L1 and the other brown to L2

If you have no earth in your lighting circuit you cannot have a metal faced switch - are you sure there is not a Earth to the back box?

If there is you need to connect to the earth in the back box and connect this to the earth on the faceplate.
SKY is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SKY For This Useful Post:
ahaydock (13-01-2014)
Old 14-01-2014, 12:03 AM   #3
ahaydock
Retired Mod
 
ahaydock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DW Dorset Office
Posts: 23,360
Thanks: 1,831
Thanked 2,802 Times in 2,414 Posts
Garage
Cheers. So no wires to the wavey line terminal then? I did try this yesterday (L1 to L1 and L2 to L2 and nothing).

There may be a terminal for Ground but definitely no wires. As the screws go though the metal plate of the new dimmer (which are connected to the Ground of the switch), when this screws into the backing plate wont that make the ground?
ahaydock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2014, 12:37 AM   #4
Sh1ner
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,067
Thanks: 31
Thanked 518 Times in 424 Posts
NO, but it will possibly make you live if there is a fault. The earth works by making sure everything on the circuit is at the same potential and has the easiest route to ground. That it appears to have a ground through the switch screws is a false illusion as you do not know if it actually grounded anywhere. Everything connected to earth should effectively go back to one properly connected secure ground point via the fuseboard.
Also remember that both wires at the switch can effectively be live although at times one may appear to not have a voltage because the switch is off.
Make sure you isolate the supply the supply before you do anything.
I'm sorry if that appears at all rude, it is not meant to be.
Sh1ner is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sh1ner For This Useful Post:
ahaydock (14-01-2014)
Old 14-01-2014, 08:20 AM   #5
ahaydock
Retired Mod
 
ahaydock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DW Dorset Office
Posts: 23,360
Thanks: 1,831
Thanked 2,802 Times in 2,414 Posts
Garage
Thanks guys and I'll make sure both are grounded properly first then as I have two switches to do.

Guessing L1 still goes to L1 and L2 to L2? Just leave the terminal with the wavy line?
ahaydock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2014, 08:40 AM   #6
SKY
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
SKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Democratic People's Republic Of South East Essex
Posts: 1,121
Thanks: 490
Thanked 545 Times in 376 Posts
Send me a pic of the back of the face plate -

Sometimes L1 means Common (depends on manfacturer)

Don't want to confuse things so a can tell you immediately from a pic.
SKY is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SKY For This Useful Post:
ahaydock (15-01-2014)
Old 15-01-2014, 02:11 PM   #7
ahaydock
Retired Mod
 
ahaydock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DW Dorset Office
Posts: 23,360
Thanks: 1,831
Thanked 2,802 Times in 2,414 Posts
Garage
Thanks and its OK as have a local sparky coming to do it all for me
ahaydock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors