Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Detailing Products > Tools -Machine polishers, Pressure Washers, Detailing Equipment & Microfiber
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tools -Machine polishers, Pressure Washers, Detailing Equipment & Microfiber Sponsored by Detailed Clean : www.DetailedClean.co.uk – | Bilt Hamber | Dodo Juice | Nanolex | Sonus | Wolfs Chemicals + More | Loyalty Scheme Discounts |

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-09-2018, 01:38 PM   #1
TenaciousTed
Sponge Jockey
 
TenaciousTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Pressure washer won’t start

Hi folks

After spending quite a bit to get set up (not to mention lugging everything down to the car park for a wash) I was quite disappointed to see that my Clarke Tiger 1800 (a petrol pressure washer) wouldn’t start.

It has petrol and the correct amount of the oil mentioned in the manual. The kill switch is set to on and the choke is at start. The fuel supply tap is open.

Tried flushing pressure from the lance as well.

The only thing which seems a little suspect is how little give there is in the throttle.

Clarke’s service department isn’t open at weekends so I’m bracing myself for a long battle next week if those proves to be faulty. If I need to drain this thing, pack it up and post it back to them to say I’ll be ****ed is a major understatement.

Attaching video of throttle lever. Hopefully someone knows something I don’t!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TenaciousTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 01:41 PM   #2
TenaciousTed
Sponge Jockey
 
TenaciousTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
https://youtu.be/tKI1WE3wYBc

Video of throttle. Doesn’t move very far to the left. Is it jammed?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TenaciousTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 02:05 PM   #3
wish wash
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
wish wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Causing mischief in the R35
Posts: 1,328
Thanks: 42
Thanked 548 Times in 454 Posts
So, is the choke set to start, the fuel turned on, throttle open 3/4, engine switch on which is the (I) on the button. Then it should start.
wish wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 02:32 PM   #4
Maxtor
Distinguished Detailer
 
Maxtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,451
Thanks: 2,680
Thanked 2,856 Times in 1,654 Posts
That throttle doesn't look like it is going far enough for me.
__________________
Maxtor.
Maxtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 03:15 PM   #5
TenaciousTed
Sponge Jockey
 
TenaciousTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Hi folks

The choke, fuel tap throttle etc are adjusted as described. My only area of concern of the throttle which appears to not have enough play.

I think I’ll just have to call the service line and hope there’s a local representative who can repair or examine it. draining this and shipping it back would be immense hassle


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TenaciousTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 03:43 PM   #6
Maxtor
Distinguished Detailer
 
Maxtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,451
Thanks: 2,680
Thanked 2,856 Times in 1,654 Posts
I hope you get it sorted mate, as above it does look like you might be on the money with the throttle side of things. please keep us updated on this.

*Edit, is anything fouling the connecting rod that the throttle is pushing? at 6 seconds in the video it looks like the rod catches on the plastic housing?
__________________
Maxtor.

Last edited by Maxtor; 22-09-2018 at 03:57 PM.
Maxtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 05:10 PM   #7
TenaciousTed
Sponge Jockey
 
TenaciousTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
There is a red screw underneath the throttle lever. I'm not sure what it is there for but it might be obstructing the throttle. I don't want to remove it however without direction from Clarke Service. In case it invalidates the warranty. I'll contact them on Monday.
TenaciousTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 05:14 PM   #8
TenaciousTed
Sponge Jockey
 
TenaciousTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Shot of the screw





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TenaciousTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 05:20 PM   #9
mokkaman
Sponge Jockey
 
mokkaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: AYRSHIRE
Posts: 90
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts
HI,You could try pushing down on the throttle body to se if it will clear the screw you mentioned.It is possible you caught it on something without realising it.Just an observation really.Cheers Andy
mokkaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2018, 05:58 PM   #10
kentphil
Sponge Jockey
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 28 Times in 24 Posts
Do you get full throttle with the choke lever off?. I have a generator with a similar setup, and the choke lever will limit travel at 1/4 throttle by design of the lever.

Do you have a priming bowl on the carb?, - looks like a flexible clear bubble that you press 5 or 6 times to pump fuel through, although that is more common on 2 strokes, but I have also seen them on 4 strokes too.
kentphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors