Detailing World Forum banner

Citroën Saxo VTS Fast Road/Track Day Project

91K views 133 replies 25 participants last post by  Andyblue 
#1 · (Edited)
I made this. :) Citroën Saxo VTS Build

Hi,just wanted to share a list of all the work I've done so far,what you see has already been posted on the Saxo VTS forum of the country of my origin (Italy),though it's pretty quiet these days unfortunately due to the social medias,I've been slowly updating it over the past 2.5 years even though most of the main chassis work (see underside) has only seen substantial progress recently,it's a pretty straightforward progress thread for now,mainly de-rust,paint etc,but I hope it can be of interest in some way.

Obliviously I'm no professional in no way and I learn as I go and test things so please feel free to make any suggestion (main reason for the creation of this thread) good or bad,they're much appreciated.

Last picture before hibernation:

Rear Axle:

Just a note,I've pretty much used all products from Bilt Hamber for the treating the metal: Electrox,Deox-C,Deox-Gel,Hydrate-80,Dynax S-50 for the cavities and Dynax UB.

Out with the old one:

Needed to cut off one of the 4 mounting bolts as it was jammed due to corrosion,an impact would have worked too but didn't have access to that at the time,have one now.

Started disassembling it:

Mild steel washers off the 4 mounting bolts were badly corroded,had someone custom made them in stainless steel to same specs:

Same with the torsion bars offset washers:

These socket off Irwin came in very handy to remove corroded bolts,would recommend them:

Extractor made for the torsion bars:

Pin looks okay on this side,not so much on the other though,see below.

Even though I found the seal had perished badly,not much longer before it wouldn't do his job anymore:

Faulty side,no good:

Used axle from a 1.1,arb still greased nicely:

First and second pin,much better: