Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Manufacturers and Private Label Brands > Manufacturers and Private Label Brands > Nanolex
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-04-2018, 08:48 AM   #1
petebak
Sponge Jockey
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 99
Thanks: 11
Thanked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Applying Nanolex Si3D by machine

Hi all,

I am led to believe that you can apply this by machine as well as by hand.

I am not sure if I want to as I feel I have more control by hand, but it could get a more even coverage to the panels, my question is,

Has anyone done theirs by machine , and if so what pad did you use, I would think microfibre, but may be wrong.
petebak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 09:49 AM   #2
Leebo310
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
Leebo310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maidstone
Posts: 1,915
Thanks: 661
Thanked 694 Times in 533 Posts
I do not think this would be possible mate. You have a very small window of time to remove the residue, even when applying by hand so if you add in the extra heat from a machine you'd be looking at almost instant removal.
You'd also need to change the pad after every few panels as the stuff starts to crystallise on there. I went through a few applicators each time I've applied.
Stick to just applying by hand and take your time. It's an awesome product that lasts for ages, gives insane gloss and is relatively cheap.
Leebo310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 10:06 AM   #3
percymon
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,363
Thanks: 167
Thanked 687 Times in 575 Posts
Garage
Agree with Leebo310 - even in relatively mild temperatures the product flashes off in 30s or so, so its a case of applying to small area , waiting 20 seconds and then buffing off where you started.

I manged one car, and three sets of alloy wheels with a single bottle, a little goes a long way.
percymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 10:25 AM   #4
cossiecol
Moderator & Reviewer
 
cossiecol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detailing World & 127.0.0.1 (Scotland)
Posts: 5,541
Thanks: 1,685
Thanked 3,184 Times in 1,816 Posts
In short not that I am aware of, I've used this before and cannot see it being possible to apply properly and remove in time using the DA etc.
__________________
cossiecol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 10:48 AM   #5
petebak
Sponge Jockey
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 99
Thanks: 11
Thanked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Meant to say I have used previously so am aware of what the product is like, the reason I was asking is that it appears that Nanolex tech guys suggest it can be done, I just wondered if anyone on here had, but it would appear not.
petebak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 02:20 PM   #6
sm81
Distinguished Detailer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Latvia
Posts: 5,897
Thanks: 2,557
Thanked 1,118 Times in 992 Posts
It can be done but I don’t recommended it unless You have try it before and practised How it should be done
sm81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2018, 11:53 AM   #7
S6Diesel
Unwashed Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yes should be possible and this way will be quicker and you can do larger areas in one go.
See this video at 7:00 and further where it is being explained:
https://youtu.be/_TBYBso_pS8
S6Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2018, 03:33 PM   #8
Blackroc
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 964
Thanks: 154
Thanked 661 Times in 367 Posts
Si3D can 100% be applied differently to most Coatings.

Nanolex recommend applying it as a process by panel at a time, and to keep working the product into the paint until it’s virtually disappeared, and only then buff it off. It’s not designed to flash off in the same way CQuartz or GTechniq does but that’s not to say to you can’t apply it like a normal coating too because you can


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Blackroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors