Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Detailing Products > Waxes, Sealants & Paint Protection
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Waxes, Sealants & Paint Protection Sponsored by DODO JUICE Light Fantastic , Banana Armour, Orange Crush, Rainforest Rub, Purple Haze - www.dodojuice.com

Old 08-09-2017, 10:19 AM   #1
Andest2003
Unwashed Member

Nanolex s13d questions new detailer

Hi I have never done a car my self before my only experience has been having a car gen3 protected

I am looking for a treatment easy to apply but have some questions and would appreciate some help

Nanolex looks easy to do is there any other options to consider

My car is metallic white Audi tt I saw a video that says if you retreat incorrectly it can go grey. When and how long is it that you can retreat without this happening if it only lasts 2 yrs

Is it difficult to do a large area in one go like a bonnet

I have more questions but will ask these first
Andest2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 04:04 PM   #2
Wilco
Warning contains metal

Thanked 6,194 Times in 2,024 Posts
Do the bonnet in halves, same with the roof but make sure you overlap where you'd applied previously so you don't miss any. It's not difficult to use at all. Take your time and be thorough with removal. It'll still come off with something slightly abrasive even if you miss a small amount. Can't comment on greying as my cars red but it's a good product and not one to be scared of.
Wilco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 04:42 PM   #3
percymon
Orbital Oracle

Si3D is a good coating but you'll need the paintwork to be polished first and then prep'd with an IPA wipe down or wiped with Nanolex EX.

So you'll need a full decontamination of any dirt, debris, tar etc and previous wax coatings, followed by a polish to remove any imperfections (or previous nano/silicon coatings), then the IPA/EX wipe down