Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Technical > Detailing Guide
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Detailing Guide Written a guide to help someone, post it here. sponsored by www.bearswaxfactory.co.uk. UK distributor of Dr Beasley's and DD ,Angelwax. Dodo Juice, Poorboys, Sonax, Carbon Collective, Valet-Pro,7.5% discount code for DW members

Old 04-07-2010, 02:33 PM   #1
-Mat-
Distinguished Detailer

Thanked 2,394 Times in 1,792 Posts
Garage
Vinyl Wrapping Wheels

Firstly, I take no responsibility to any damage caused to yourself, your wheels, your car, or anything else for that matter. Use this merely as a GUIDE.
I am not a professional at any sort of wrapping. This was my first attempt, but seemed to go ok, and decided I would share with you what I did and how.

Right, so where do we begin? Items required
  • Wheels to be wrapped
  • Vinyl to wrap with
  • Plenty of MFs
  • APC
  • Tardis
  • Clay
  • IPA
  • Wheel Wrench
  • Torque Wrench
  • Jack & Axle Stands
  • Tape Measure
  • Stanely knife (or craft knife)
  • Sponge and Old Credit Cards (or a squeegee)
  • Long straigh edge (I used a spirit level)
  • 21mm Socket Piece/Swissvax Brushes, anything of similar dimensions
  • Heat Gun/Hair Dryer
  • A helping hand
  • Shelter (ideally)
  • Time & Pateince

Ok, so that's the list of items you we require. Some are obvious why, some may not seem obvious, but you will soon see why.

Right then, let's crack on with the "how to"........

First things first, make sure the car is on a nice flat surface and the handbrake is on. If/When removing the rear wheels, put the car in gear, and place some chocks in front of the front wheels.