Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Detailing Products > Eco Friendly Detailing
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Eco Friendly Detailing Talk About all your Eco Products here - Waterless wash / Steam cleaning etc

Old 23-11-2016, 04:54 PM   #1
dabhand
Washmitt Meister

Garage
More water butts and pumps

My garage and drive are at the bottom of my garden and with living in an upstairs masionette means running a hose isn't always a quick option, it can be done but takes a while to sort out. I've been using water butts to collect water for a few years now and use a Hozelock butt pump to run a hose for washing the cars and watering the garden.

After reading Steelghosts thread :
http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/foru...d.php?t=369407
I decided to do the same sort of thing, but as my pump is a submersable one, I could leave it in the butt full time and connect a hose as and when needed.
All parts came from Ebay, mainly for ease of ordering rather than cost, the filter is a 100 micron one, the hose is 19mm internal and all fittings are either 19mm or 3/4" BSP, a standard Hozelock type connector was used to as a connection to either a hose or pressure washer.
I found I needed a tap fitted to the top of the butt otherwise the water syphoned out with the pump switched off.

The first thing to do was make a new lid for a water butt, for this I used decking, painted it with fence paint and cut it to size. A hole was drilled through the middle to allow the hose through,

All the fittings needed.

Filter mounted on a board

and mounted insitu under the tree by the drive, out of sight.

top of water butt with tap and 90° bends fitted, tap is a twist type 90° for on/off.

Pump attached on camlock fittings so it can be removed incase of water freezing in winter. It just hangs in the bottom of butt about 4 inches from the base so as not to collect too much debris