Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > General > Detailing Chat
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Detailing Chat Got a detailing related question that doesn't fit in any other section? Post it in here.

Old 24-12-2017, 10:45 AM   #1
Andehh
Unwashed Member

Light scratch/not home polishable, DIY remedies?

Our new carbon black Ford S Max, 3 days after collecting, had someone drag their trolley down the side of it.

Cardinal sin of mine to park in tescos/town unless quiet when I can park alone in a distant city corner, but Christmas demanded....

I have tried polishing it out with ultra cut & 2 finishing cuts, but I am an amateur with it, so am hesitant about anything more for fear of making it worse.

The day before Christmas I can't justify a professional chips away type repair (£200 ish?), but the scratches are really weighing on my mind.

There are three of them, each around 1ft long, 2 are picture below. Along with a nasty "smudge" in the paintwork from the chaos trolley handle being dragged hard against paintwork. I will try this with another go with the polisher I think.

Can anyone recommend any products that could be used to just take the "edge" off the scratches, if only to hide the whiteness of the lines. A touch up pen would be OTT I think, as you can only just feel the scratches with a fingernail, so they arnt that deep... Maybe something that wouldn't hamper a potential professional repair in future? (though doubt we will, it is a family wagon after all...)

Many thanks & merry Christmas!

Picture below, apologies for size....

Last edited by Andehh; 24-12-2017 at 11:15 AM.
Andehh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2017, 11:19 AM   #2
Christian6984
Distinguished Detailer

Thanked 1,297 Times in 1,223 Posts
Garage