Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > General > Detailing Chat
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Detailing Chat Got a detailing related question that doesn't fit in any other section? Post it in here.

Old 03-03-2018, 10:03 PM   #1
Unwashed Member

Evening All,
New to the detailing scene but I have been doing a fair bit of reading and watching in the months before joining. (Even watched Junkman's videos, even though I hope to never correct anything) The long and short of it is that I have my dream motor sat on the drive in a nice metallic black and I want to keep it looking good and prevent the dreaded swirls whilst adding a nice water bead. In reality I am never going to have a show car finish as it is a daily driver and I have zero experience so trying to keep it simple....

I have spent a bit of money on some basics as I didn't have anything, the majority based on opinion from DW. Even then it is a minefield with all the products out there but thanks for your input! On reflection, I have purchased a few things that I don't even know what I am doing with so I hope you all don't mind helping me out some more

The car currently has no protection on it and is full of shed loads of salt so I will probably snow foam it twice just to make sure I get as much of it off as possible. Not sure if it makes matters any better though?

I have BH double speed but I am really worried about using a clay bar/mitt and getting marring. Will I cause paint damage by attempting to wax without claying first? I understanding what claying removes but I don't know how much of a difference it makes to the finish etc. On top of that I don't have a fallout remover either but I do have BH auto wheel if that could be used if I need something before waxing?

Also purchased BSD (mainly due to it being so cheap and DW seems to love it) but honestly have no idea what I do with it