Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Lifestyle > The Tech & Gadget Zone > New ICE / Car Audio Zone
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-02-2017, 04:21 PM   #1
bidderman1969
Distinguished Detailer
 
bidderman1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,115
Thanks: 3,645
Thanked 1,483 Times in 1,139 Posts
Pioneer head unit dead

For some reason, the Pioneer headunit is dead

Worked yesterday, just noticed it when I just went out, not done anything at all that would remotely affect it, so my question is, is the a fuse in the headunit, if so, where would it be and what sort is it? And as this hasn't happened to me before, I'm guessing it'll be hard to find somewhere that's sells them?

Never had this happen before so it's a new one on me

Unit is a AVH 5500BT
bidderman1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2017, 04:31 PM   #2
Harry_p
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 915
Thanks: 26
Thanked 398 Times in 332 Posts
They usually have a mini blade fuse on the back of the headunit. There will also be a fuse in the main car fuse box somewhere assuming it's been plugged into factory wiring.

First off, a lot of headunits have a hard reset button somewhere, one of those tiny buttons you need to press and hold with a pin for a few seconds. Depends on the model though, my alpine unit has one behind the faceplate.
Harry_p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2017, 04:32 PM   #3
CarChem
DW Sponsor
 
CarChem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Unit11 Hazelford Way, Newstead, Nottingham NG150DQ
Posts: 1,358
Thanks: 1,925
Thanked 1,021 Times in 527 Posts
there is one on the back on the head unit and maybe one Inline as well.

__________________
Car-Chem, Unit 11 Hazelford Way, Newstead, Nottinghamshire NG15 0DQ.
Office: +44 (0) 844 414 0987
www.car-chem.com

CarChem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2017, 04:34 PM   #4
Harry_p
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 915
Thanks: 26
Thanked 398 Times in 332 Posts
A quick google suggests a paperclip / pin size reset button somewhere on the bottom left corner of the unit. Try that before digging it out of the dash.
Harry_p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2017, 04:50 PM   #5
bidderman1969
Distinguished Detailer
 
bidderman1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,115
Thanks: 3,645
Thanked 1,483 Times in 1,139 Posts
Cheers guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry_p View Post
A quick google suggests a paperclip / pin size reset button somewhere on the bottom left corner of the unit. Try that before digging it out of the dash.
Just tried that no joy though
bidderman1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2017, 07:39 PM   #6
Shiny
DW Forum Sponsor
 
Shiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Swindon
Posts: 6,227
Thanks: 1,409
Thanked 3,251 Times in 2,034 Posts
Garage
Check your car fuse box first. The HU is often shared with the cigarette lighter and using a charger or something similar may have popped the car fuse.
__________________
Lloyd



Shiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2017, 07:44 PM   #7
bidderman1969
Distinguished Detailer
 
bidderman1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,115
Thanks: 3,645
Thanked 1,483 Times in 1,139 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiny View Post
Check your car fuse box first. The HU is often shared with the cigarette lighter and using a charger or something similar may have popped the car fuse.
The ciggy socket is still working, charging stuff with it now, but no more than usual
bidderman1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2017, 07:47 PM   #8
Shiny
DW Forum Sponsor
 
Shiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Swindon
Posts: 6,227
Thanks: 1,409
Thanked 3,251 Times in 2,034 Posts
Garage
Still check the car fuse though. Occams Razor and all that, eliminate the most likely causes first.
__________________
Lloyd



Shiny is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Shiny For This Useful Post:
slim_boy_fat (28-02-2017)
Old 01-03-2017, 03:01 PM   #9
bidderman1969
Distinguished Detailer
 
bidderman1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,115
Thanks: 3,645
Thanked 1,483 Times in 1,139 Posts
Fuse looks ok to me



bidderman1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 03:31 PM   #10
bidderman1969
Distinguished Detailer
 
bidderman1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,115
Thanks: 3,645
Thanked 1,483 Times in 1,139 Posts
Put the old one in, factory one, that don't work either

bidderman1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors