Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Lifestyle > The Tech & Gadget Zone > New ICE / Car Audio Zone
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-10-2019, 09:24 PM   #21
PugIain
Distinguished Detailer
 
PugIain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Blundell Park
Posts: 8,256
Thanks: 368
Thanked 2,889 Times in 2,258 Posts
Garage
I had the double din nav with JBL upgrade in my RCZ, so unless I'd spent silly money I probably would have lost audio quality.
Also, the flip up dash screen wouldn't have worked and I didn't fancy that.
PugIain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2019, 09:47 PM   #22
Kerr
Distinguished Detailer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10,334
Thanks: 1,921
Thanked 7,307 Times in 4,614 Posts
In just had the standard. The maps/navs was just so outdated.


I'll need to learn how to set this unit up, and get rid of the fault, but Google maps and Spotify is so good. Waze is supported too.

There is DAB and you can also stream radio stations.

I'll need to find what apps all work.


Also it reads out text messages and I can dictate back.

It gives a more modern feel to the car.
Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2019, 12:20 AM   #23
PugIain
Distinguished Detailer
 
PugIain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Blundell Park
Posts: 8,256
Thanks: 368
Thanked 2,889 Times in 2,258 Posts
Garage
My 86 has Nav, but it's not "tied in" to the car the same way Peugeot have a habit of doing.
As far as I know you can hoik it out and replace it without any ramifications.
PugIain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2019, 09:33 AM   #24
AnthonyUK
Washmitt Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 183
Thanks: 14
Thanked 102 Times in 74 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PugIain View Post
My 86 has Nav, but it's not "tied in" to the car the same way Peugeot have a habit of doing.
As far as I know you can hoik it out and replace it without any ramifications.
I would have thought most systems are tied into the car in some way. They use CANBUS for detecting when the lights are on, reversing etc rather than using individual feeds for all of these.

The Mercedes specific units I have fitted are able to support these analogue feeds though if for any reason they are needed.

Most modern units can understand various flavours of CANBUS so it if often just a matter of finding the right one.
AnthonyUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors