Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Technical > Painting/Spraying & Bodywork
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Painting/Spraying & Bodywork All topics relating to vehicle repair bodywork and painting, respraying etc.

Old 29-07-2021, 06:22 PM   #1
mighty chipster
Sponge Jockey

Full car respray - BMW E46 Cabriolet Help Please

Right, this is going to sound (and probably is) very cheeky....

I own a 2004 330ci BMW E46 Cabriolet with only 56,000 miles in silver grey which I love and cherish. I'm not a mechanic by a long shot but I've managed to keep it mechanically in tip top condition. But, the paintwork needs a full body respray and to be perfectly honest I cannot affort the prices I've been quoted (circa £2-3k). So, is there anyone that can help me with keeping the costs down to a minimum?

Does someone want to use my car to "feature" on their website, youtube or instagram? Or, what other options might I have?

I'm willing to help out where I can with the preparation etc (if that indeeds "helps" or not!).

I live in Northampton.

Thank you for reading and please don't be too harsh on me!
mighty chipster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2021, 06:35 PM   #2
bellguy
Orbital Oracle

Garage
In all honesty 2 to 3K for a full respray is cheap, a good shop I would think would be about 5 to 6K minimum for a top quality job depending on where in the country you are, seen many more expensive resprays done than that and not on exotica either lol
bellguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2021, 01:18 PM   #3
Ennoch
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)

Yeah, at £2k or even £3k I'd actually be a little concerned over the finish you're going to get. What is it that makes you think it needs a full respray vs going to town on correction and simply sorting the bits which need sorted?