Detailing World Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am new to the polishing game, have polished my car and a friends so far using my DAS-6 and Menzerma compound/finishing compound and sealed with Collinite 476. Now I was just wondering now I have done this once to get rid of swirls etc, how often if at all, should I us the machine again? Do I do it by hand from now on or do I just use the finishing compound with the machine so it's not so aggressive? What would be your normal wash routine now after the initial first corrective polish?
Thanks very much guys
Paul

·
Registered
834 Posts
For my personal car, I do a full machine correction. I do my upmost to maintain it correctly, if I can't clean it properly I don't clean it.

When I do my spring prep I find a single stage with a finishing polish is ample. You should only need to cut it once unless you pick up scratches

·
Registered
3,197 Posts
As above really, an ultra fine finishing polish on a finishing pad and zero pressure can really ramp up the gloss and hardly cut at all. Just do that occasionally when you feel the need and you'll not need to go through the whole prosses again. I can't see the point in leaving it too long personally.

There's stacks of info about wash routines on here but tbh it's all about common sense more than anything :thumb:

·
Registered
3,214 Posts
I've spent a lot of hours machining my car. It still has plenty of paint left on (according to the paint guage). However, I don't intend to have to do anything major on it unless I get a scratch as someone above said. I will use a machine to clean the paint every year or so from now before re-applying wax etc.

·
Registered
8,529 Posts
About once a year or two for me, using a finishing polish to get rid of the marring, light wash swirls, and to bling it back up to how it should be.