Detailing World Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Rotary polishing and still building up my inventory of machine polishing pads. I want to do a 3 step correction with a compound on the yellow pad, then refine with the same compound on an orange polishing pad and then finish with a finishing polish on a finishing pad. The pad color scheme is same for most brands like CG Hex Pads, Lake Country CCS Pads etc.

So I managed to get the following:

Cutting Pad - Optimum MF Cutting Pad
Another Cutting Pad - CG Hex Logic Yellow Foam Cutting Pad
Polishing Pad - Scholl Concepts Orange Foam Polishing Pad
Finishing Pad - Scholl Concepts Soft Black Finishing pad

I always thought that the harder a pad, the more it can cut so cutting pads should be hard and polishing pads should be soft. To my surprise, the Hex Yellow cutting pad is as soft as a finishing pad. On the contrary, the Scholl Orange polishing pad is very hard and coarse.

1. Is there a science behind hard & soft pads? Do hard pads cut more than soft ones? Do things like open cell structure & closed cell structure have any practical significance?

2. How do I pair the above pads with my polishes? I have Optimum Hyper Compound and Menzerna Super Finish 4500. The Car needs a complete correction as it has many swirls and scratches.

·
Registered
164 Posts
i use menz polish pf2500 and menz power finish try a compound with the polish pad if you dont get the results your after ie rid of swirls then step it up to one of your cutting pads and then refine with your finishing pad always start off with the least aggressive hope this helps mate.

·
king of the flexonian
12,484 Posts