Detailing World Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys,

I'm picking up my new car tomorrow, a Clio 197 in Alib blue. Planning to spend the whole day detailing it and prepping it for winter.

I've never used clay before but think now would be as good a time as any to try it out before I polish and wax the car.

Only thing is, i've not got any, and if I want to use it tomorrow my options will be limited to what I can buy in the morning at Halfords - Which is either the Meguiars quick clay kit or the Autoglym clay kit. Out of the 2 i'll most likely go for the Meguiars kit because I hear good things and its £9 cheaper.

So providing the Meguiars kit is worthwhile, the only other thing I read is tar remover/fall out remover before claying - Again I don't have any of this so would need to buy it at Halfords. Options seem limited to the AG intensive tar remover or a spray on turtlewax/halfords version, but these get poor reviews on the website.

So if I go for the AG tar remover, can this be applied after hosing the car down before washing? I don't fancy washing the car, then using the tar remover, then needing to wash any residue off before claying and polishing.

Which order do I need to do things in?

Thanks

Mike.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ok, well I suppose it'll be a quick 20 mins wash down as the car will already be clean after the initial wash and claying.

Has anybody used the AG tar remover?

Will I just need to use this on the lower half of the car or the entire car?

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Ok, well I suppose it'll be a quick 20 mins wash down as the car will already be clean after the initial wash and claying.

Has anybody used the AG tar remover?

Will I just need to use this on the lower half of the car or the entire car?